MINUTES

SPECIAL ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL AREAS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Held at Saanich Municipal Hall, Council Chambers and via MS Teams May 19, 2022 at 6:03 p.m.

- Present: Councillor Karen Harper (Chair), Braedan Drouillard (electronically), Jennifer Grant, Spencer Gillis, Kurban Ali Keshvani (electronically) and Kaden Callenberg (electronically)
- Staff: Carolyn Richman, Environmental Education Coordinator and Megan MacDonald, Senior Committee Clerk
- Regrets: Ryan Senechal and Sarah Anderson

MOTION

MOVED by J. Grant and Seconded by S. Gillis: "That the meeting be closed in accordance with the *Community Charter*, Part 4, Division 3, Section 90 (1) (b) as the matter relates to personal information about an identifiable individual who is being considered for a District award or honour, or who has offered to provide a gift to the District on condition of anonymity."

CARRIED

The meeting was adjourned to In Camera at 6:07 p.m.

The Special Environment and Natural Areas Advisory Committee Meeting reconvened at 7:13 p.m.

RISE AND REPORT – SAANICH ENVIRONMENTAL AWARDS

The results from the May 19, 2022 In-Camera Environment and Natural Areas meeting are as follows:

"The Environmental and Natural Areas Advisory Committee recommends the 2022 Saanich Environmental Awards be granted as follows:

| Individual: | Sharon Stangeland |
|-----------------------------------|--|
| Volunteer Organization: | Kings Community Nature Space Fundraising Group |
| Youth: | Matthias Spalteholz |
| Biodiversity Conservation: | Barry Andrushuk |
| Long Term Achievement: | Heather Coey |
| Sustainability: | Jim Church." |

There was no other business to discuss.

ADJOURNMENT

MOVED by J. Grant and Seconded by S. Gillis: "That the Special Environment and Natural Areas meeting be adjourned at 7:14 p.m."

CARRIED

Councillor Harper, Chair

I hereby certify these Minutes are accurate.

Committee Secretary